gnome-cleanup - cleans GNOME user preferences
gnome-cleanup erases all GNOME user preferences, returning the user to the default look and feel. This can be used to undo an undesired preference setting, or to correct the desktop if the preferences become corrupt. The GNOME preference files are automatically recreated the next time the user logs into a GNOME session.
gnome-cleanup displays all preference files that it will delete before erasing any files, and prompts the user to confirm that they would like to erase these files. Files are deleted only after receiving a positive confirmation from the user.
gnome-cleanup cannot be run while logged into a GNOME session. Users should run this program when logged into another session, for example, the Failsafe session. If the user tries to run this program while logged into GNOME, an error message is displayed.
Example 1: Deleting all GNOME user preferences
After displaying a list of preference files that will be deleted, the following question is displayed:
Do you wish to remove these files (Y/N)
The files are deleted only if the user provides a positive response.
The following exit values are returned:
0 Application exited successfully
>0 Application exited with failure
The following files are used by this application:
/usr/bin/gnome-cleanup Executable for GNOME cleanup.
See attributes(5) for descriptions of the following attributes:
ATTRIBUTE TYPE ATTRIBUTE VALUE Availability SUNWgnome-panel Interface stability Volatile
Written by Brian Cameron, Sun Microsystems Inc., 2003.
|SunOS 5.11||gnome-cleanup (1)||11 Jan 2003|